Bing! Wide awake!

Today began about 45 minutes before my alarm actually went off. This is not normal for me, not at all. To say that I’m not a morning person is putting it very mildly indeed. Teaching begins next week, I have three 9am lectures and I’m in a blind panic. You’re more likely to see Bigfoot in my office at 8.30am rather than me. Except for the next 10 weeks apparently! Anyway, I digress slightly. I had the alarm set for 8am (nice and early!) yet very surprisingly was wide-awake by 7.15. I’m not sure if this is a result of removing sugar from my diet or whether it’s just a freak occurrence. Time, I’m sure, will tell. I do really hope it a sugar thing rather than a random event thing. It would really help with those 9am starts next week! I’m tired now though, as I only went to bed at midnight and I don’t do so well on less than 8 hours sleep.

Since I was awake early and it was a beautiful morning, I decided to reignite my running career. I’m usually pretty good when it comes to fitness, but I’d pretty much disengaged with exercise since early December and was having all kinds of trouble finding the motivation to get going again. So out I went today for a run along the beach and it was lovely – sunny morning, not too windy, nice high tide. I was positively glowing when I got home.

See me glow!

 
Breakfast was also rather more successful than it has been for the past few days. My new bacon was tasty, un-cardboard like in texture and didn’t ooze anything during cooking. I think I might be on to a winner here! 

 

Sizzle sizzle & not a smidge of white goop in sight!

  
 
Anita sent me a link to a company that uses nothing but salt to cure their bacon (thanks Anita!) so I also want to try them out. They are called Ty Siriol Welsh Pork and can be found here. Their products are a little harder to come by than most but they do deliver so that could certainly be an option for the future.
We got home late so dinner consisted of a quick homemade burger & salad. Instead of breadcrumbs, I used chia seeds to bind the mince, eggs, parsley, mustard powder and garlic powder. Smashed up some avocado on the side to replace the Mayo I still haven’t had time to remake and it worked a treat. 

  

Leave a Reply

